Eve Tushnet

No time for a real post, but every bit of this (read everything on June 15) is brilliantly spot-on. Everything gets a resounding "Amen!" from me, except her one-liner about Love in Action, as I still don't quite know what to think about them, and her advice about praying the rosary and confessing to a priest, for obvious reasons.

Her NRO piece is okay, but not as interesting to me. I would have appreciated more attention devoted to the rank-and-file exgay "little people"–mainly we just hear about two LWO speakers (only one of them exgay) and the exexgays who are strongly critical of their exgay experience.

One thing I absolutely must come back to: Her comments on her blog about alienation and beauty articulate something my brain has been fumbling with for a while now. Her statement that "my experiences weren't just pointless, something to be overcome and forgotten as quickly as possible" resonates with me and highlights one of the things that bug me about the exgay mainstream–the emphasis on disvaluing, diminishing, discrediting, and demeaning the experience of same-sex attraction.

Unfortunately, further reflection must wait for another time.

2 Responses to Eve Tushnet

  1. “my experiences weren’t just pointless, something to be overcome and forgotten as quickly as possible”

    This resonates with me deeply too. Sometimes I meet gay people who claim they never questioned their same-sex attractions. They act shocked when I tell them all that I did to pursue God and holiness (which was the opposite of homosexualality for me), “Why would you do that? What a waste of time?” They ask.

    I don’t regret that time I spent pursuing the path I was on–an ex-gay life. It seemed the right thing to do at the time and as far as I know, I did it for noble and pure reasons (for the most part). The experience, though painful, was not fruitless. It bore different fruit than I imagined it would (not always healthy fruit, but not all rotten either).

    Fortunately I have a familiy who accepted me when I came out, and I think that made all the difference for me, and I have art to help me understand my experience, not to mock it, but to explore it and value it.

  2. Peterson,

    (Wow! THE Peterson Toscano. I’m blushing. :) )

    I’ve often been impressed by how you don’t entirely disvalue your experiences.

    I have more thoughts in response to yours but I think they belong more in the future post I need to write on this subject.

    In the meantime, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

