Personal Note / metablog / advice?

Sorry about my scarcity lately.  Life is very good but also very full.  I’m still trying to figure out where blogging fits in my life.   I’m a lot busier now than I was when I started, and I don’t do busy particularly well.  Any pointers regarding time management, particularly as it applies to blogging (or writing more generally, I suppose) would be greatly appreciated.

I enjoy doing this blog, but there are a lot of other things I enjoy, competing for my attention.  I think doing this blog *could* be something of value, especially if I worked a little harder and a lot more consistently at it, but there are lots of other important and valuable things on my plate right now.   So I’m trying to sort all that out.

Just so you know that despite all the apparent indicators, I still care.   And as I’ve said before, I have ideas for posts coming out my ears.  It’s just finding the time to turn them into reality that’s the problem.  It doesn’t help that I write at a snail’s pace.  Sigh.

3 Responses to Personal Note / metablog / advice?

  1. ck says:

    dm, one idea is to write in small pieces and set their time in the future. That way you could have posts appearing tomorrow (without writing them tomorrow).

    I tend to write long posts, too, but have found that most people want something medium-sized. I do “asides” that are small, to keep folks interested.

    Don’t know if it really works–I get few comments, but the ones I do are good. (Another tip is to get a cubicle job where you can multitask…)

  2. h says:

    dm, I just want to say that the fact you’re keeping this going is a major encouragement to me. seriously, God Bless you.

  3. ck, yeah. It’s occurred to me that one way to post more frequently is to break up my monster posts into “series”, and then post one part per day. I’m planning on trying that more.

    I do think my tendency to go on and on and on is something of a liability, as is my inability to do the blogging equivalent of “small talk”–short little fun posts with a little linky here and a little linky there. (Note to anyone who ever meets me in real life–I can’t “small talk” in normal conversation either. You either get awkward silence or me passionately engaged in discussion about the things I care about.) But dealing with those issues is sort of a secondary priority. Before I worry about how to “sell” this blog to an audience by making it more interesting for them, I’d rather focus on creating something worth “selling”. Which to me means regular, substantial posts on the one subject I feel both 1) qualified to write about and 2) free to write about publicly in this sort of venue. I am a one trick pony. :)

    h, thanks. :) God bless you too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

