Haggard Update

Ron Belgau alerted me to this:

Another overseer, the Rev. Tim Ralph of New Covenant Fellowship in Larkspur, Colo., said he was “misquoted” recently as saying Haggard was “completely heterosexual.” He said he meant to say that therapy “gave Ted the tools to help to embrace his heterosexual side.

 So, I guess it was all a big misunderstanding.  In any case, I don’t think my previous thoughts on the subject are entirely without value, even though they may not apply to Haggard or the church he pastored.

Otherwise, things are quiet over here, as I’ve realized that I keep writing the easy posts in order to avoid thinking about and working on the hard ones.  There are all kinds of things I could say, and hope to say at some point, about stuff like this, this, this, and this.  But there are some tougher questions I need to wrestle with first.

 

4 Responses to Haggard Update

  1. Jay says:

    Your thoughts are still very valued from this little corner of the blogosphere, DM. :)

    I am looking forward to your thoughts on those very interesting articles. I might actually beat you to a few of them, though. The one from Box Turtle Bulletin is especially interesting. Peace out.

  2. Not-so-new reader says:

    Keep writing. I’d be especially fascinated to hear your opinion on birth control. Is it, like homosexuality, a sexual sin? How is it different?

  3. Saul says:

    Look forward to your thoughts, especially on the article on the sheep.

    Given my personal experience with homosexuality, I’ve always thought it is probably significantly, though perhaps not entirely, determined genetically. (This, of course, is not in any way contrary to our Christian world view.)

    Treating any unwanted genetic predisposition, such as perhaps alcoholism, in the womb or if possible after birth, seems to me quite moral. Same with homosexuality or pedophilia…

  4. Saul:

    I’m just not as comfy with medically tweaking or treating predispositions. I’m not sure I could adequately articulate why…it’s just kind of creepy to me. I mean, sometimes it’s a necessity, like with certain kinds of mental illness. If something’s keeping you from functioning, then you oughta fix things so you can function. And yeah, if other people are at risk from the person’s problem, as might be the case with pedophilia, then maybe it makes sense there too.

    But, falling short of that…I just don’t know. I’ve been thinking about it, and I’m still uncomfortable with it. As a matter of general principle, I’d rather fight through my sin issues rather than treat them with a sort of “medical sanctification.” Anyhow…that’s what I’m wrestling with on that subject. If I come to any conclusions, I’ll post ‘em.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

