First Post

I tried to do the blog thing a couple of times before. Neither time was I very successful in sticking with it. My problem was that I didn’t want the blogs to be too ex-gay. I wanted them to be balanced and personal, with cute quizzes and memes, discussion of what I ate for breakfast, etc. Not devoted primarily to one issue–I didn’t want people to think I was obsessed or something.

But I discovered that I’m not really interested in writing online about much else besides ex-gay and related issues. Sure, I do other things and think about other things, but none of them seem terribly blogworthy right now. Which brings me to my decision to start an all-ex-gay-all-the-time blog.

Given that my most prolifically posted prior blog topped out at 15 posts or so, I decided that I wouldn’t start this one until I thought of 20 prospective post topics. Well, I quickly came up with 120, and seem to think of more faster than I could ever hope to write them. So maybe I’m onto something.

While quantity doesn’t look like it will be a problem, quality is of course another matter altogether. I’m not an expert on anything. I’m not a leader of anything. All I can say for myself is that I’ve thought about these issues a bit, and I haven’t been able to find anyone who speaks for me elsewhere on the web.

Although I’m not a huge fan of the label “ex-gay” for myself, I am fundamentally in agreement with what is commonly known as the ex-gay movement. I’m an evangelical Christian whose best efforts so far to understand what Scripture teaches on the subject have led to the conclusion that homosexual sex and relationships are sinful–not what God desires for us. The ex-gay movement has been helpful to me on my journey and I’m deeply grateful. Oh yeah, and I changed.

That being said, I do have some concerns about and disagreements with some of the the stuff that goes on in ex-gay circles. I’m hoping that this blog will be among other things a place where I can wonder aloud about those things.

More generally, I’m just looking for a place to vent all the ideas and thoughts that bubble up in me as I read news and discussions of these issues online and reflect on my own experiences.

Leave a Reply

